Accessing RPD Register on nrf24LE1

Questions for programming 8051 microcontrollers in C or assembly using SDCC

Accessing RPD Register on nrf24LE1

Postby lorenberg » Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:30 am

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to embedded systems programming, and I started a project where I need to use the nrf24LE1 chip from Nordic Semiconductor.

I need to access the RPD bit in order to evaluate the noise on a given channel, but I was not able to find a way to access this register.

I read on the datasheet that the RPD is a bit in the register number 9, but I was unable to find any reference to RPD register inside the

header files given with nordic SDK.

I think it should be quite easy, but it's now a couple of days that I'm stuck on this stupid issue.

Thanks in advance for your help!
lorenberg

Re: Accessing RPD Register on nrf24LE1

Postby brennen » Mon Nov 25, 2013 1:02 pm

What assembler/compiler are you using?
brennen
Site Admin

Postby lorenberg » Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:52 pm

I'm using Keil C51.

But actually I realized that I can access that register using the old name "CD", i.e. the register that was used on nrf24l01+.

I was successful in accessing information using this name instead of RPD....I don't know if it was an error on the datasheet or on the Keil header file I got
with Nordic SDK....but surely it was a bit strange. Nonetheless, the information I got are correct, as well as the address to which CD bit is referring in my headers.

Only problem is that I actually noticed that the RPD (or CD, whatever it is) bit, is set to 1 only when the transmitter is sending something using exactly the same
datarate and same channel of the receiver.

I need to realize a kind of spectrum analyzer, to detect activity on a given channel, but it seems that it's not possible to rely on the CD bit for this purpose.

Do you have any other possible idea?
lorenberg

Postby brennen » Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:22 pm